top of page

'13 Reasons Why'

The media text that I would say has changed my life the most is the Netflix series, '13 Reasons Why'. The show is based on the best selling books by Jay Asher, and it first aired on 31st March 2017. Since then, it has continued for another series, and it has already been confirmed that it will return for a third in 2019.


The show follows the story of Hannah Baker, a 17 year old who commits suicide and leaves a series of tapes to explain the reasons why. What sets this apart from other programs is the harsh reality of it, tackling difficult topics such as depression and alcohol abuse. I first watched it over a year ago and it still leaves an impact on me to this day.


Furthermore, the series shows many different perspectives, revealing to the audience how a story has many different sides, and not everything is as black and white as it seems. As each episode went on, every small comment and moment added up to the cause of Hannah's death. I believe this highly had an impact on me, because it revealed how something miniscule to one person, could be major to someone else. The main theme is perception, and with many different storylines and characters, it really sends the message across that every action has an impact.


Each character is explored deeply, and the fact that you see Hannah's situation from different points of view in such great detail has really showed me how to imagine what it feels like in 'someone else's shoes'. I feel as though this caused me to connect with the characters on a stronger level, and more with the series as a whole.


Moreover, the shock factor and sad reality of the last episode in series 1 really left a big impact on me. Although Hannah's death scene was inevitable, it reminded myself and many other viewers that suicide is very much a real issue and one that needs to be spoken about more openly.






23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page