top of page
Writer's pictureNick Saward

Life Changer


Life Changer – Scouting



This was a poster I had seen on the school notice board one day in 2011. The poster in question was promoting the scouting in the local area. After seeing this poster and it had come time to go home, I immediately questioned my mum about joining scouts. After minimal convincing I went to my first scout meeting. This was a beginning of a lifelong

enjoyment for me. the feeling of leaving home for days on end and camping with your friends is unbeatable, the enjoyment of time alone in the outdoors, or the amazing adventures that scouting takes you on. If I didn't see this poster on the notice board that day, I couldn't imagine what I would be doing now!

The opportunities that scouting has provided me with Aswell as the people it has allowed me to connect with are endless. Next year I will be attending the annual scout jamboree this year in South Korea. Never in a million years did I ever believe that I would be going to South Korea, all this is because of that one poster I had seen on the notice board a day in 2011.

Now 16, I have been involved in scouting for 11 years, it has given me valuable skills for life like no other place could. I have been up mountains I never thought I would, I have gained abstract hobbies I never thought I would, such as kayaking. All of this has come from that one poster I had seen one day in school.


Now as my time left in scouting shortens, I am lucky enough to be able to give back to scouting what it has given to me. As a Young leader now, I get to provide the excitement and joys I experienced though my career in scouting. It allows me to connect with young people and often learn new things from them. Every Friday I can go to scouts with a plan and by the end of the night seeing the way the young people flip that plan on its head and make something completely out of the realm of my idea is mesmerizing.

I have been able to voice myself through scouting on lots of media platforms. I have been on the news, in newspapers and in articles for everyone to see. Scouting has given me a real passion that I would want everyone to experience it, young or old. Scouting is an inclusive place for everyone.


Taken from the Champion newspaper Alfie, 16, from Bootle, said: “After being involved with scouting since beavers (6) I started volunteering as a young leader which I have done for over a year now and love it. There is always something new and exciting to do whether it be going on camps or running expeditions. Scouting offers a place for all seeking a thrill”.


Scouting has taken me on a wild goose chase for just over 11 years now and has provided me with experience of a lifetime and being able to give back to the community and scouting is the least that I can do. Now after scouting for 11 years, I try my hardest to give back to scouting weather that be by praising it any time through the media like articles or offering my service through volunteering to staff scouting events and offer first aid or simple support. Without scouting it is unclear where and what I would be doing today, and I am grateful for everything it has given me. I have met influential people through scouting such as Bear Grylls and David Walliams. But also, influential people like the young people I work with on a weekly basics. Finally, scouting has pushed me through the toughest times weather that be covid where we still managed to meet on a weekly basics via zoom. Scouting has always been the one happy place I can fall back on, and

I am grateful for that.














6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page