top of page

"Friends" TV - Media Diaries Week 3


As cliche as it sounds in a society where "Friends" has become one of the most popular shows in the world, if you take away its popularity and success and strip it down to the hilariously funny, relatable sitcom that it is, it has 100% changed my life.


"Friends" is an American television sitcom, created by David Crane and Marta Kauffman. It aired on NBC in the US from September 22, 1994 to May 6, 2004, lasting ten seasons. In the UK, it has aired on Channel 4, Sky One and most notably Comedy Central.


I vividly remember watching Friends growing up, whether I was actually paying attention or weather I was just in the room whilst my parents were watching, I have without a doubt been consuming it since a young age. The show not only provides humour, but also sees the six main characters - Rachel, Monica, Phoebe, Ross, Chandler and Joey - encounter and overcome many issues within their lives. Although it may not be the first thing that pops in to someones head when they think of an educational media product, it is safe to say that every episode provides advice that can last someone a lifetime.


Without a doubt, the main 'theme' of the show is humour, and with Chandler cracking a joke every other line and the overly relatable lives of the cast, it isn't hard to find the show funny. I think the most humorous part of the show, however, is the simplistic and at times rude 'banter' between the cast. Almost every episode has memorable quotes and funny moments that will live on forever.


Being born in 2001, only 4 years before broadcasting of the show ended, the memories I have of watching the show were almost definitely all re-runs. The 1997 episode, "The One at The Beach" is one of the first episodes that I remember watching. Undoubtably not understanding the majority of the humour, I think I was probably most fixated on the bald woman on the TV screen.


I remember the show being humorous but over the years as I, and the people around me have continued to enjoy it, it has become a 'home comfort' and relaxes me every time I watch it. Wherever I am, as soon as I turn on Friends I instantly feel at home.


As far as if the show has changed my opinions or assumptions, I don't think that it has changed how I view things but it has 100% defined how I see them. I imagined all New York apartments to be blue and all groups of friends in their 20s lived together. The show's representation of the group and portrayal of the different character's views allowed me to form my own opinions on things that I would have otherwise known nothing about, such as the fashion industry, thanks to Rachel, and many other things thanks to the outlandish character of Phoebe.


Since 2018, Friends has been available on Netflix in the UK. This has definitely changed how much I consume other forms of media. A lot of the time, instead of watching live TV or finding a movie or TV series to watch, I will just watched Friends. This has decreased my consumption of other media texts.

Moreover, what I believe to be one of the most pivotal reasons for the show's major success is the characters/cast that have so much to offer the viewers. Each one of the characters has certain characteristics that viewers strive for and also that they may be able to see in their own friends. Almost every group has a funny guy like Chandler and a flirt like Joey. Friends is known for its viewers relatability to its characters, part of the reason why the names Joey, Rachel, Monica, Phoebe, Ross and Chandler will forever provoke a thought in people's minds.


There will always be at least one person to express shock when someone says that they have never seen Friends and it and judging by the sheer success of the show for over 20 years, I believe the show has a very similar affect on other people.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page