top of page
Writer's pictureMaddy

Life Changer: The Owl House





I wouldn't say many products of media have "changed my life". I always just kind of walk away from products and think about how I enjoyed them rather than think about my life and how it will be changed forever after watching 'She-Hulk: Attorney At Law'. However, I think there is one TV show that probably changed my perspective on my life and my identity more than any others.


The Owl House is an animated TV show released by Disney in early 2020. It stars the character of Luz Noceda, a Dominican-American preteen girl from Connecticut and her journey through the magical realm of the Boiling Isles with a powerful witch and a King of Demons. The show isn't always perfect (as with any other show) but it does construct an interesting story that builds into a darker 3-part finale that is currently still in the process of releasing.


This, so far, probably doesn't seem like something that would be particularly 'life changing' but there is a reason I've labelled it as such. Throughout the show, there are hints that Luz, the main protagonist, is queer or more specifically, bisexual. This is confirmed in the latter parts of season 2 where she starts a relationship with the female minor antagonist turned co-protagonist, Amity. This representation of queer people in media is something that is hardly ever seen and awakened something in 14-year-old Maddy.


Before watching, I'd had questions about my identity for a while. Of course, a cartoon on Disney Channel isn't the only thing that made me realise I was queer, but it was one of the things that pushed me in the right direction. After seeing the representation and thinking for a while, I came out to friends as bisexual and started thinking that i could be somewhat genderqueer. If not for The Owl House, I may not have been pushed in that direction, at least not for a while yet, so for this I thank the show.


Again, the show is absolutely not perfect. Some episodes do feel like they don't matter and some of the antagonists in the first season do feel too silly for how dramatic some of their actions are, but it still absolutely has more positives than negatives. I love this show very much and despite being distraught at the cancellation of a full third season, I am very excited to see the direction the finale goes in.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page