top of page
Writer's pictureNick Saward

THE GREATEST PIECE OF MUSIC IN THE HISTORY OF MANKIND

Everyone loves music, its a simple fact. The best thing about music is the amount of unique and different genres you can listen to loads of genres such as Pop, Blues, Country, Rap. If you ever get bored of one genre there is bound to be another that interests you. Well speaking of Rap, I didnt use to like Rap, I use to think it was too loud and obnoxious. Until one song changed me. Everyone has that one song that they destinctivly remember listening to for the first time and absolutley loving it. To me that song is 'The Paris Song' by Kanye West and Jay-Z.


Link to the song: https://youtu.be/gG_dA32oH44


Now this song is not officially known as 'The Paris Song', it is instead another name. Unfortunatley I dont think I can legally say that name because it includes a racial slur in the title, but the fact that I mentioned it as 'The Paris Song' and you still knew what it was, that speaks volumes on how well know it is. Not only that, there are tons of other alias' that the song goes under such as: 'In Paris', 'African-Americans in Paris', 'Kanye and Jay-Z's song', the amount of alias's this song has has no limits, but I would reccommend putting 'Paris' or both the artists names in the title.


To me this is a song that grabs you by the throat and tells you to dance or even sing along. The beat is constanty zooming past both your ears making you feel like your at a rave. The constant hits of the main beat on your eardrums always feels satisfying. The fact that the beat goes on for the entire song and not once are you ever board or tired says so much on how much it captivates you. There are times when you can only hear that but to me those are my favourite parts of the song, the background to the main beat is great and all, it really makes you feel ready for when it drops, but when its just that gorgeous beat, you're in your element.


The lyrics for this song are nothing short of genius, If you thought Eminem, Biggie or Tupac were the greatest rappers of all time, THINK AGAIN. Kanye and Jay-Z broke new ground with this song with lyrics such as "Ball so hard, this shit weird We ain't even 'posed to be here Ball so hard, but since we here It's only right that we'd be fair". This lyric alone shows us that both these guys could've wrote the bible if they wanted to, so when Kanye West in his 2013 song 'Yeezus' said "I am a God", he might actually have been not far off from that.


The Best thing about Kanye, Jay-Z and this song is that they know the fans love it, and they love it as well, so when they play it in concert they love to repeat the song over and over again. In one concert in Paris (of course) they once played the song 11 times in a row, you'd think the fans and both artists would get bored after about 3 perfomances of the song, but that is were you are wrong. The fans in that room stayed right till the end, not one pair of footsteps were seen walking out of the door. To me I could listen to this song on repeat for a long, long time. In fact I once played this song on repeat 69 times, 69!!! Thats nearly 5 hours and I still wasn't bored.


The music video for 'The Paris Song' is nothing short of a masterpiece. This is probably the best music video of all time because it makes you feel like you're there. The camera pointing straight up at the artists painting them as gods, the flashy lighting, the incredibly loud sounds that shatters your eardrums; everytime I watch this beautiful piece of art I feel as though I'm at an actual concert of their's. (even though I've never been) One day in my life I want to experience what millions already have done, I want to be blown away by the talent that is Kanye West and Jay-Z, I want to have the time of my life dancing and singing my heart out, to the greatest song of all time 'The Paris Song'.


27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Unknown member
Nov 11, 2022

What is wrong with you?

Like
bottom of page