top of page
Writer's pictureNick Saward

'The life changer' A dustland fairytale by The killers

For this week's section of ‘The life changer.’ I thought it was only appropriate to choose my favourite song and music video of all time. As I love music so why not do my favourite song by my favourite band; The Killers. Everybody in the UK know the hit song ‘Mr. Brightside’ from them and apart from a few other songs by the killers that was all I knew about them for years, despite my parents being huge fans. However, when I was twelve, I started listening to them a lot more frequently and this song especially ‘a dustland fairytale’ stuck out to me.


‘A dustland fairytale’ is a song from the killers third studio album; day and age. The song was written by the killers which contains Brandon Flowers, Ronnie Vannucci Jr, Dave Keuning and Mark Stoermer. Dedicated to Brandon Flowers' parents, the song has a feeling of nostalgia

.

The music video that goes with this amazing song is unlike any other one I have seen. It starts off as we see an older man out in the open then flashes into what seems like a fight breaking out. Then as the story progresses, we realise through hints this older man is the young man who participated in a feud over a girl. It is like you are watching a movie as it is so involving and you cannot help but sympathize for these people.


It is fair to say this is what made my love of the killers progress. It is a heart warming song and has a comforting feeling to it. also seeing this song be played live was really moving as the lead singer encourages everyone to bring their light as he gives the positive message of love can only drown out hate and that just shows how this song can bring people together even in a time of sadness.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page